Mozart and Mendelssohn

Saturday, February 10, 2024
7:30 P.M.

Classical Series

Concert Details

The “Italian” Symphony No. 4 of Felix Mendelssohn is among the most celebrated of his compositions, catalyzed by his enchantment with the peninsula during a European tour. The HSO also performs his overture Die schöne Melusine, based on the legend of a forlorn mermaid. Soloist Gábor Varga joins the orchestra for Mozart’s timeless Clarinet Concerto, a lyrical masterpiece and one of the great composer’s final completed works.

Mendelssohn         Die schöne Melusine Overture
Mozart                    Clarinet Concerto
                                      Gábor Varga, clarinet
Mendelssohn         Symphony No. 4, “Italian”