planned-givingThe Huntsville Symphony Orchestra Foundation is a separately incorporated non-profit, tax-exempt foundation governed by a Board of Directors. Its exclusive purpose is to support the HSO. Donations to the Foundation may be made by an outright gift of cash or securities, or through a planned gift. Examples of planned gifts include:

  • a gift of cash
  • a bequest in a will (a percentage, specific amount or residual)
  • a charitable remainder trust
  • a life insurance policy, gifts of real estate, or
  • the residual value of a retirement account such as an IRA or 401(k) plan.  This can be done by listing the Huntsville Symphony Orchestra as a beneficiary on the retirement account.

Anyone, regardless of net worth, can make a planned gift. It doesn’t require that the donor be rich and the gift can be of any size. Planned gifts can financially benefit the donor in his or her lifetime through tax savings.

Benefits also include the pleasure of knowing that one’s support for the HSO will last beyond a lifetime. All gifts to the Foundation are invested in a judicious manner and regularly monitored by the Board of Directors. If you are interested in learning more about planned giving opportunities – or if you have already included the Foundation in your estate plans – please contact Dan Halcomb in the HSO office at 256-539-4818 or

The Encore Society

The Encore Society recognizes the following individuals who have made a planned gift to benefit the Huntsville Symphony Orchestra Foundation:

Dr. and Mrs. Walter V. Bouldin
Dr. and Mrs. David Chenault
Ms. Dorcas S. Harris
Frances K. Huffman
Dottie Little
Sara W. McDaris
Drs. Jo Ann and Robert S. Moorman

Dr. and Mrs. Everett C. Mosley
Mr. and Mrs. Jerry W. Nutt
Mr. and Mrs. Lee A. Rhoads
Mr. and Mrs. James Richardson
Ms. Jodi Stephens
Mrs. David W. Todd
Mr. and Mrs. Robinson J. Ward, Jr.

Huntsville Symphony Orchestra Foundation Board of Directors

Dorcas S. Harris, Chairman
Shirley McCrary, Vice
Sarah Hereford, Secretary
Cutter E. Hughes, Treasurer
Samuel A. Lowry,
HSOA Representative
Clare Grisham
Frances K. Huffman
Karen Kiss
Tristenne Robin
Mark Sapp
Donna Shergy
William H. Stender
Richard C. Titus
Newell Witherspoon

Dan Halcomb, ex-officio

Directors Emeriti
Elizabeth W. Abel
Walter V. Bouldin
Philip C. Dotts
Richard A. Holloway
Shelbie King
Robert D. Ludwig
Foster McDonald
Robert S. Moorman, M.D.
Dev Mosley
Elbert H. Parsons, Jr.
Macon Phillips, M.D.
Gary Pledger
Lee A. Rhoads
S. Dagnal Rowe
A. Eugene Sapp, Jr.
Sally Spencer
Steven F. Thornton
Robinson J. Ward, Jr.
Elizabeth M. Wise